会员登入  |   注册

常见问题

在患者的护理工作中,一个重要内容,就是了解各种癌症治疗的营养需求。您的亲朋好友可能曾善意地劝告您避免进食某些食物或服用某些保健品,您或许也从书中了解了一些相关知识。但是,这些信息可能会有些自相矛盾,让您无所适从。

以下所列就是我们在与癌症患者及其看护者接触的过程中经常听到的一些问题。希望对这些常见问题的解答,能助您解开心中的疑惑,让您做出明智的选择。

糖分是否会为癌细胞提供营养?
碳 水化合物是我们身体的主要能量来源,并且是我们大脑的唯一能量来源。在消化过程中,碳水化合物将分解为单糖,而糖分是我们身体细胞所能有效吸收的最简单的 营养物质。我们常吃的碳水化合物一般包括水果、乳制品、大米、面条、面包、饼干、豆类产品和淀粉质蔬菜(如马铃薯、玉米、木薯等),以及加糖的饮料与甜 点。

也就是说,我们完全禁食糖分是毫无必要的——但应注意不可过量,因为糖分本身除了供能外,并无其他营养价值。除此之外,您还需了解,摄取过多的单糖 将使我们的血糖增加,且其增速将比我们摄取复合碳水化合物的速度来得快。当我们的血糖水平过高,我们的胰腺将会释放胰岛素以便转化这些糖分。倘若导致高胰 岛素血症(也即胰岛素分泌过量),将使我们的体内形成炎症反应,从而增加我们罹患癌症的风险。

用蜂蜜代替糖类是不是更好? 吃蜂蜜安全吗?
蜂蜜的组成成分包含果糖 (~38%)、葡萄糖 (~31%)、水 (~17%) 和碳水化合物(麦芽糖、蔗糖以及一些复合碳水化合物)。蜂蜜同时也含有微量的维生素与矿物质,如维生素 C、铁、钙、磷等。

蜂蜜具有抗细菌和抗真菌的特性,还有抗氧化的功效。因此蜂蜜对身体是有益的。不过,如果病患正在接受治疗(如放化疗或干细胞移植等),则不宜吃蜂蜜,因为多数蜂蜜未经加热消毒,含有花粉甚至是细菌,可能会引起过敏反应,甚或感染。

当然,您的确可以换成经过消毒的蜂蜜,可如此一来,又损伤了蜂蜜的价值,因为其中的活性酶可能在消毒期间的高温环境中被破坏。

食用红肉是否安全?
红 肉(如牛肉和羊肉)能够提供白肉所无法提供的营养物质,如铁、锌以及维生素 B12。这些营养物质是形成红细胞和血红蛋白时必不可少的成分。不过,每周吃一到两次的红肉就能够提供足够的营养物质了。另一方面,如果红肉食用过多或过 频,或是食用高脂肪红肉,则可能会增加罹患冠状动脉疾病和某些癌症的风险。

 

在接受治疗期间,我是否能够服用补品?
市面上有各种各样的保健品,都宣称能为服用者带来多方面的健康好处。但在选择所服用的保健品时,还是应当小心谨慎。您是否对此类保健品有真正的了解?是否知道为何要服用它?

您在接受治疗期间,可以服用营养成分不超过每日推荐营养摄入量 (RDA) 上限的复合维生素以及矿物质药丸,这是安全的。

但不建议服用抗氧化维生素与矿物质保健品,包括有抗氧化作用的植物营养素和植物提取剂。接受癌症治疗的病患服用这些保健品究竟有何益处,目前还有争议。

当然,如果是氨基酸和蛋白粉等用于增强免疫力的保健品,在接受治疗期间服用是可以的。不过,必需确保这些保健品是来自信誉良好的制药公司。

如果您正在服用任何其他保健品,最好是能够与肿瘤医生和/或营养师讨论,确保这些保健品对您的身体有益,而不至于服用不必要的药物从而导致身体负荷加重。

我是否应选择有机农产品?
有 机食物指的是在制造过程中未经基因改造、未使用化学肥料,且限制使用常规农药的食物。至于有机家畜,则是指未喂食抗生素或生长激素的家畜。癌症病患的饮食 中可包括有机食物,但并非必要。有机食物所含的食物防腐剂不多,因此较容易变质。此外,因为在有机食物上喷洒的除草剂/杀菌剂较少,因此所含的生物体毒素 成分可能较高。因此,在决定购买有机食物时,我们必须考虑到食物的来源。提供农产品的有机农场最好不要太远,这样才能尽量缩短运输所需的时间,从而提供最 佳的营养品质。

 

什么是转基因食品 (GMO)?
所 谓转基因食品,指的是通过基因工程的方法,对生物的 DNA 进行特定的改动,并由这种生物最终产出的食物。这些方法能够使改良后的农作物不易受到病原体和除草剂的影响,以及/或提供更多的营养成分。科学界目前基本 达成共识,认为市面上的转基因农作物食品对人体健康所带来的危险性并未超过传统食品。

 

哪些食物或饮食习惯是容易致癌的呢?
‘抗炎’饮食计划虽然有很多种,而且每个计划都有不同的秘诀,但是所有的计划均围绕着一个共同的概念:长期或失控的体内炎症将引起病痛,而通过健康饮食避免长期炎症将可促进身体的健康,使疾病远离我们。

此处所列的一些食物可能具有促炎性,或其烹调过程隐含致癌风险:

*霉菌与毒素:如已发霉的谷类食品、谷物以及花生内所含的黄曲霉毒素以及发霉的玉米中所含的伏马毒素

*食物烹调;

可防止癌症复发的饮食计划有哪些?
世 界癌症研究基金会 (World Cancer Research Fund) 以及美国癌症研究院 (American Institute for Cancer Research) 在考察了数千份研究报告之后,总结概括了一些能够协助预防癌症以及癌症复发的因素。

确定对抗癌有所裨益的生活方式改变有:

MEMBER LOGIN  |   SIGNUP

Frequently Asked Questions

Understanding nutritional needs in various cancer treatments is important in caring for the patients. You may read or have been advised by well-meaning friends and family to avoid certain food or to take supplements. However, some of the information may contradict and result in confusion.

The following are some questions that are frequently asked during our encounter with cancer patients and their caregivers. The answer to each question is intended to provide clarification and allow you to make an informed choice.

Does sugar feed cancer cells?
Carbohydrate is the main source of energy for our body, and it is the only source of energy for our brain. Carbohydrate is broken down into simple sugar in the process of digestion and sugar is the simplest nutrient to be utilised by our body cells. Various carbohydrate food that we commonly take are fruits, dairy products, rice, noodles, bread, crackers, bean products, and starchy vegetables including potatoes, corn, tapioca, and also sweetened drinks and desserts.

This means that there is no need to completely avoid sugar, however excessive sugar intake is not encouraged as sugar itself has no other nutrients besides providing the needed calories. In addition, you may like to take note that excessive intake of simple sugar could increase our blood sugar more rapidly compared to intake of complex carbohydrate. When our blood sugar level is high, our pancreas will release insulin to convert the sugar. Hyperinsulinemia or excessive production of insulin is thought to cause inflammatory responses in our body that may lead to increased risk of cancer.

Is honey a better substitute to sugar? Is honey safe to be consumed?
Honey is made up of fructose (~38%), glucose (~31%), water (~17%) and the remaining carbohydrate are maltose, sucrose as well as some complex carbohydrate. It also contains traces of vitamins and minerals, like vitamin C, iron, calcium, phosphate etc.

Honey has anti-bacterial and anti-fungal properties. It also acts as an anti-oxidant. Hence, taking honey has its benefits. However, if one is on active treatment e.g. chemotherapy, radiation therapy or undergoing stem cell transplantation, honey is not safe to be consumed as most honey is not pasteurized and it may contain pollens or even bacteria that could cause allergy or infection.

You may purchase pasteurised honey as an alternative, but you would not obtain all the honey’s goodness as all active enzymes would have been destroyed under high temperature during the pasteurization process.

Is it safe to consume red meat?
Red meat, such as beef and lamb, provides nutrients that are not found in white meat, such as iron, zinc and vitamin B12. These nutrients are important in the formation of red blood cells and haemoglobin. Tainting it once or twice a week would provide sufficient nutrients. On the other hand, if too much red meat is consumed or when it is consumed too often, or in their high fat form, its intake may increase risk of coronary illness and certain cancers.

 

Can I take supplements during treatment?
Many types of supplements promising various health benefits and claims are available in the market. One must exercise caution when choosing supplements. Do have a good understanding of these supplements and why they need to be consumed?

Multi-vitamins and minerals pill which consists of no more than the upper limit of RDA (Recommended Daily Allowance) for all their nutrients are safe to be consumed during treatment.

Antioxidant vitamins & minerals supplements, or phyto-nutrients & phyto-chemicals that act, as antioxidants are not encouraged to be consumed during treatment. There are controversies in the benefits of taking these supplements in patients undergoing cancer treatment.

Immune enhancing supplements such as amino acids, protein powders are safe to be consumed during treatment. However, do ensure that the supplements are manufactured by a reputable pharmaceutical company.

If you are consuming any other supplement, it is best to discuss with your oncologist and/or dietitian to ensure that you are getting the benefit of these supplements and not overloading your body with unnecessary pills.

Should I go for organic produces?
Plant food are considered organic if they are produced without genetic modification, no chemical fertilizers used and with restricted used of conventional pesticides. For organic livestock, no antibiotic or growth hormones are given. Organic food can be included in the diet of cancer patients but is not always necessary. Given the limited use of food preservatives, organic food may spoil faster and they may have potentially higher amounts of biotoxins due to the lack of externally applied herbicides/fungicides. Hence, when deciding to buy organic food, we need to consider the source of the organic food, it would be ideal if the organic farm that supplies the produce is nearby to ensure shortest transportation time and therefore provide optimum nutritional quality.

 

What is genetically modified food (GMO)?
Genetically modified food refers to food produced from organisms that have had specific changes introduced into their DNA using genetic engineering methods. These techniques allow crops to be engineered to have increased resistance to pathogens, herbicides and/or provide better nutrient profiles. There is broad scientific consensus that food on the market derived from the genetically modified crops poses no greater risk to human health than conventional food.

 

Are there any food or diets that cause cancer?
There are many ‘anti-inflammatory’ diets and while each plan has its own twist, all are based on the general concept that constant or out-of-control inflammation in the body leads to ill health, and that eating to avoid constant inflammation promotes better health and can keep disease away.

Here are some examples of food that are thought to be inflammatory, or food preparation process that may increase cancer risks:

* Moulds & toxins: e.g.  Aflatoxin in cereals, grains and peanuts and  Fumonisin in maize

* Food preparation;

Is there any diet to prevent cancer recurrence?
The World Cancer Research Fund and American Institute for Cancer Research reviewed thousands of studies and provided summary of factors that help in preventing cancer and cancer recurrence.

Some lifestyle modifications that have proven to be helpful are: